Knowledge Resources: Patient Education

Easy-to-read reference materials on topics ranging from drugs, vitamins, and herbs to breakthrough medical research and state-of-the-art disease management.
Provides a Drug Interactions database, where you can check interactions between two or more drugs and get detailed information regarding potentially harmful drug interactions.

DrugDigest is the consumer health and drug information website of Express Scripts, Inc. (ESI), the nation's largest independent pharmacy benefit manager (PBM).

Please note that information on a web site should never be substituted for the advice of your doctor or other health professional.

MedlinePlus is a free web-based resource (sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, a unit of the National Institutes of Health) providing current, accurate, commercial-free and reliable health information to consumers and healthcare professionals. English and Espanol

Prescription and over-the-counter medication information is from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information, ©2011.
Information on herbs and supplements is from Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Consumer Version. Copyright ©1995 – 2011.

The PDRhealth site offers consumer-friendly explanations of disease states and conditions as well as the safe and effective use of prescription and non-prescription drugs as well as herbal medicines.
The drug information is written in lay terms and is based on the FDA-approved drug information found in the PDR or from manufacturers. It gives plain-English explanations for the safe and effective use of prescription and nonprescription drugs. The articles, written and reviewed by physicians and other clinical professionals, aim to give you a comprehensive overview of the conditions—from symptoms to diagnosis and even self-care.

Please note that information on a web site should never be substituted for the advice of your doctor or other health professional.

chable by geographic location. Comparisons based on prices at various drugstores in New York State.

New York State Board of Pharmacy publishes an annual list of the 150 nost frequently prescribed drugs, in the most common quantities. New York State Department of Health collects retail price information on these drugs from pharmacies that participate in the Medicaid program.

A very useful drug index, it has an excellent search engine and provides information on both a consumer/patient and professional level. Information on various disease categories is also provided . An advanced search engine is also available which allows searching by drug name, keyword, imprint code, NDC and medical terminology as well.

Herbal and supplement information from Natural Medicines database.

Please note that information on a web site should never be substituted for the advice of your doctor or other health professional.

MedlinePlus is a free web-based resource (sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, a unit of the National Institutes of Health) providing current, accurate, commercial-free and reliable health information to consumers and healthcare professionals. English and espanol

Health information in more than 40 languages and Tutorial: Understanding Medical Words

Easy-To-Read and Low Vision options in Health Topics

Prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs and supplements from National Standard with levels of evidence.

Senior Health also features ways to enlarge text, enhance contrast and enable audio for selected text.



Updated daily

Patient Notes appear in each issue of Postgraduate Medicine, a peer-reviewed clinical journal for primary care physicians. Collected here and categorized by topic are selected Patient Notes from past issues. This information was up-to-date when originally published. Patient Notes are checked for currency; however, some areas of medicine change rapidly. Users should always confirm therapeutic approaches using resources from the current literature.

is list created by consumer health librarians includes a limited number of resources that meet the quality criteria for currency, credibility, content, audience, etc., as described on our website.

While these materials are available through public libraries in the five counties served by the Mid-Hudson Library System: Columbia, Dutchess, Greene, Putnam, and Ulster, users from other counties can also check with their libraries for access.

The Project's DVDs/videos, books and website links address areas of concern to young people ages 20 and under, to their families, to educators and to agencies serving youth. Selected materials are available in Spanish. The research-based RISK AND PROTECTION-FOCUSED PREVENTION FRAMEWORK applies for all materials.

The Coalition also facilitates communication about the safety, efficacy, and use of vaccines within the broad immunization community of patients, parents, health care organizations, and government health agencies.

Created by The Nemours Foundation's Center for Children's Health Media, Kid's Health features thousands of in-depth articles, animations, games, and resources. Reviewed regularly for currency.

Lab Tests Online, a professionally produced site for caregivers and patients results from a unique collaboration among professional societies representing the clinical laboratory community. Organized by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC), as part of its ongoing commitment to educating the public about lab testing.Search by: Tests, Conditions & Diseases, Screening

Includes a dictionary of cancer terms, the NCI drug dictionary, cancer statistics, clinical trials, cancer prevention, genetics, and fulltext of NCI fact sheets

A telephone help line, live online chat service and email help support the extensive information found here. English/En espanol

Institutos Nacionales del Cancerhttp://www.cancer.gov/espanol?ref=tile

munities for people with: ALS/Motor Neuron Disease, Anxiety, Bipolar, Depression, HIV/AIDS, Multiple Sclerosis, OCD (Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder), Parkinson's disease, and PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress)

From About Us: "PatientsLikeMe is a privately funded company dedicated to making a difference in the lives of patients diagnosed with life-changing diseases. Our personal experiences with ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease) inspired us to create a community of patients, doctors, and organizations that inspires, informs, and empowers individuals. We're committed to providing patients with access to the tools, information, and experiences that they need to take control of their disease."

Described in AHRQ Innovations Exhcange:
http://lihttp//www.innovations.ahrq.gov/content.aspx?id=1801

In addition to diseases and conditions, the site has a number of healthy living guides and helpful resources such as Health Tools, Treatment Decision Guides, blogs and pod casts, and Ask a Specialist feature.